The Resource Bounders, Monica Tesler

Bounders, Monica Tesler

Label
Bounders
Title
Bounders
Statement of responsibility
Monica Tesler
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Twelve-year-old Jasper and his friends are the first group of cadets, called Bounders, to be trained as astronauts who use new spaceships to teleport, but soon are forced to go up against an alien society seeking revenge for stealing this brain-sync technology
Member of
Summary
In the tradition of Michael Vey and The Unwanteds, twelve-year-old Jasper and his friends are forced to go up against an alien society in this first book on a brand-new adventure series. Thirteen years ago, Earth Force--a space military agency--discovered a connection between brain structure and space travel. Now they've brought together the first team of cadets, called Bounders, to be trained as high-level astronauts. Twelve-year-old Jasper is part of this team being sent out into space. After being bullied back on Earth, Jasper is thrilled to have something new and different to do with other kids who are more like him. While learning all about the new technologies and taking classes in mobility--otherwise known as flying with jetpacks--Jasper befriends the four other students in his pod and finally feels like he has found his place in the world. But then Jasper and his new friends learn that they haven't been told everything about Earth Force. They weren't brought to space for astronaut training, but to learn a new, highly classified brain-sync technology that allows them to manipulate matter and quantum bound, or teleport. And it isn't long before they find out this new technology was actually stolen from an alien society. When Jasper and his friends discover the truth about why Earth Force needs them, they are faced with a choice: rebel against the academy that brought them together, or fulfill their duty and protect the planet at all costs
Pace
Tone
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10459675
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Tesler, Monica
Index
no index present
Intended audience
  • HL620L
  • Decoding demand: 96 (very high)
  • Semantic demand: 100 (very high)
  • Syntactic demand: 83 (very high)
  • Structure demand: 88 (very high)
Intended audience source
  • Lexile
  • Lexile
Interest level
MG
LC call number
PZ7.1.T447
LC item number
Bo 2016
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/lexile
620
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 5
  • 8
Reading level
4.3
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Bounders
Series volume
0001
Study program name
Accelerated Reader AR
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Science fiction
  • Brain
  • Space flight
  • JUVENILE FICTION / Action & Adventure / General
  • JUVENILE FICTION / Science & Technology
  • JUVENILE FICTION / Science Fiction
  • Space flight
Target audience
adolescent
Label
Bounders, Monica Tesler
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1475647
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First Aladdin hardcover edition.
Extent
366 pages
Isbn
9781481445931
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2015043361
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9781481445931
  • (OCoLC)910980148
Label
Bounders, Monica Tesler
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1475647
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First Aladdin hardcover edition.
Extent
366 pages
Isbn
9781481445931
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2015043361
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9781481445931
  • (OCoLC)910980148

Library Locations

    • Carver BranchBorrow it
      1161 Angelina St., Austin, TX, 78702, US
      30.2695584 -97.7240278
    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.2713021 -97.7460168
    • Cepeda BranchBorrow it
      651 N. Pleasant Valley Rd., Austin, TX, 78702, US
      30.2590471 -97.7088905
    • Ruiz BranchBorrow it
      1600 Grove Blvd., Austin, TX, 78741, US
      30.2298616 -97.7070109
    • Twin Oaks BranchBorrow it
      1800 S. Fifth St., Austin, TX, 78704, US
      30.2486884 -97.76239749999999
    • University Hills BranchBorrow it
      4701 Loyola Ln., Austin, TX, 78723, US
      30.3093017 -97.6664785
Processing Feedback ...