Coverart for item
The Resource Beyond war : reimagining American influence in a new Middle East, David Rohde

Beyond war : reimagining American influence in a new Middle East, David Rohde

Label
Beyond war : reimagining American influence in a new Middle East
Title
Beyond war
Title remainder
reimagining American influence in a new Middle East
Statement of responsibility
David Rohde
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"This book distills eleven years of expert reporting for The New York Times, Reuters, and The Atlantic Monthly into a clarion call for change. An incisive look at the evolving nature of war, Rohde exposes how a dysfunctional Washington squandered billions on contractors in Iraq and Afghanistan, neglected its true allies in the war on terror and failed to employ its most potent nonmilitary weapons: American consumerism, technology, and investment. Rohde then surveys post-Arab Spring Tunisia, Turkey, and Egypt, and finds a yearning for American technology, trade, and education. He argues that only Muslim moderates, not Americans, can eradicate militancy. For readers of Steve Coll, Tom Ricks, and Ahmed Rashid, Beyond War shows how the failed American effort to back moderate Muslims since 9/11 can be salvaged"--
Summary
A Pulitzer Prize-winning author and columnist for Reuters discusses how dysfunction in Washington D.C. led to billions of dollars squandered on the wars in the Middle East and asserts that true allies--Muslim moderates--were ignored in favor of violence and force
Storyline
Writing style
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10171982
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1967-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Rohde, David
Dewey number
337.73056
Illustrations
maps
Index
index present
LC call number
HF1456.5.Z4
LC item number
M6287 2013
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • United States
  • Middle East
  • United States
  • Middle East
  • POLITICAL SCIENCE / International Relations / General
  • HISTORY / Military / Afghan War (2001-)
Target audience
adult
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
reimagining American influence in a new Middle East
Label
Beyond war : reimagining American influence in a new Middle East, David Rohde
Link
ftp://ppftpuser:welcome@ftp01.penguingroup.com/BooksellersandMedia/Covers/2008_2009_New_Covers/9780670026449.jpg
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (p. 197-209) and index
Contents
pt. 1. For-profit war. Little America -- Law and disorder in Iraq -- A civilian surge -- The rise of the drone -- pt. 2. A way forward. Where Islam and democracy meet, uneasily -- The Silicon Valley of the Arab world? -- Murder in Benghazi -- Post-Mubarak -- Little Washington
Control code
2012039754
Dimensions
22 cm.
Extent
xvii, 221 p.
Isbn
9780670026449
Lccn
2012039754
Other physical details
map
Label
Beyond war : reimagining American influence in a new Middle East, David Rohde
Link
ftp://ppftpuser:welcome@ftp01.penguingroup.com/BooksellersandMedia/Covers/2008_2009_New_Covers/9780670026449.jpg
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (p. 197-209) and index
Contents
pt. 1. For-profit war. Little America -- Law and disorder in Iraq -- A civilian surge -- The rise of the drone -- pt. 2. A way forward. Where Islam and democracy meet, uneasily -- The Silicon Valley of the Arab world? -- Murder in Benghazi -- Post-Mubarak -- Little Washington
Control code
2012039754
Dimensions
22 cm.
Extent
xvii, 221 p.
Isbn
9780670026449
Lccn
2012039754
Other physical details
map

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.271302100000 -97.746016800000
    • Yarborough BranchBorrow it
      2200 Hancock Dr., Austin, TX, 78756, US
      30.3234684 -97.74072129999999
Processing Feedback ...