The Resource Bears behaving badly, MaryJanice Davidson

Bears behaving badly, MaryJanice Davidson

Label
Bears behaving badly
Title
Bears behaving badly
Statement of responsibility
MaryJanice Davidson
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Member of
Tone
Writing style
Character
Review
  • /* Starred Review */ Davidson is in peak form in this hilarious, sexy, and heartfelt paranormal romance featuring beings who shift between human and animal selves. Annette Garsea, a werebear and caseworker for the Interspecies Placement Agency, deals with at-risk young shifters. Her diverse (mostly mammalian and avian) cadre of coworkers try to match her up with her secret crush, hunky private investigator and bear shifter David Auberon. They end up working together when Caro, a teen wolf shifter, is brought in with Dev, a delinquent tween fox shifter, who clams to be Caro’s brother after she is taken into custody for attacking an adult shifter. As they investigate, Annette and David find heinous photos of child abuse and trafficking. Mayhem ensues, true friends and families bound by love, not blood, come to the fore, and Annette and David find passion while trying to keep the kids safe as they imperil themselves. While what Annette and David are dealing with is appalling, Davidson’s focus on their dedication to protecting the young shifters turns this into a delightful feel-good romp. Readers will “bearly” be able to wait for the next book in Davidson’s new BeWere My Heart series. -- Diana Tixier Herald (Reviewed 3/1/2020) (Booklist, vol 116, number 13, p32)
  • /* Starred Review */ Characters banter a mile a minute in the excellent, screwball paranormal rom-com that kicks off Davidson’s Bewere My Heart series (after Deja New). Bear-shifters Annette Garsea, an indomitable interspecies foster system caseworker, and David Auberon, a stalwart private investigator, team up to stop a criminal who is targeting juvenile shifters. Though Annette believes she’s too busy for love and the charmingly bashful David thinks he has no chance with her, the romantic tension only grows as they work together, soon giving way to sexy make-out sessions. Annette’s intense protective instinct toward her young charges is backed up by smarts and shifter strength, making her an admirable heroine. David is her match in intelligence and muscle, but it is his blundering attempts at flirtation that make him so endearing. A host of secondary characters, including Annette’s wacky roommate, Pat, and mysterious colleague, Nadia, serve as entertaining diversions from the procedural mystery at the center of the story. Slow-burn sexual tension and playful paranormal elements make this hilarious, sizzling romance perfect for fans of Kresley Cole’s Immortals After Dark series. Agent: Ethan Ellenberg, Ethan Ellenberg Literary Agency. (Apr.) --Staff (Reviewed 01/13/2020) (Publishers Weekly, vol 267, issue 2, p)
  • Bear shifters battle their attraction and awkward flirtations while trying to stop a criminal focused on terrorizing young shifters. Annette Garsea is one of the hardest and most dedicated caseworkers at the Interspecies Placement Agency of Minnesota, a foster care system for shifter species. It's her job to find homes and resources for at-risk shifter youth and children. At times, her work brings her within close proximity of private investigator David Auberon. Both are bear shifters with an obvious connection, but Annette thinks she's too busy for a relationship, and David can't seem to say more than five words to Annette before getting tongue-tied. It takes a shifter baby in grave danger to give the two bears the nudge they need to graduate from strictly business to something way more than friends. Davidson's (Deja New, 2017, etc.) trademark goofiness, over-the-top action scenes, and fierce heroines are all accounted for along with a memorable cast of characters, though her books can be an acquired taste for readers who prefer their shifters growly and full of angst. David is a sweetheart with a long-standing crush on Annette; in his mind, she's way out of his league. He's also supportive and completely comfortable letting Annette shine as the fearsome mama bear. The pair are wonderfully matched, whether they're watching each other's backs in the midst of danger or being two utter cornballs once they let their feelings show. There's some of the cadence of old Hollywood banter in how they speak and what they say—except they can both shift into huge bears. Despite more serious themes like homelessness, kidnapping, and violence, it's very much a Marvel movie-type paranormal romance with all the action and none of the detailed, gruesome bloodshed. A comic-book thrill ride with the added appeal of bear shifters falling in love. (Kirkus Reviews, February 1, 2020)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10850472
Cataloging source
NjBwBT
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Davidson, MaryJanice
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3604.A949
LC item number
B43 2020
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Bewere my heart
Series volume
0001
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Shapeshifting
  • Women social workers
  • Private investigators
Label
Bears behaving badly, MaryJanice Davidson
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1125993644
Dimensions
18 cm
Extent
377 pages
Isbn
9781492697015
Lccn
bl2020006098
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
(OCoLC)1125993644
Label
Bears behaving badly, MaryJanice Davidson
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1125993644
Dimensions
18 cm
Extent
377 pages
Isbn
9781492697015
Lccn
bl2020006098
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
(OCoLC)1125993644

Library Locations

    • Carver BranchBorrow it
      1161 Angelina St., Austin, TX, 78702, US
      30.2695584 -97.7240278
    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.2713021 -97.7460168
    • Howson BranchBorrow it
      2500 Exposition Blvd., Austin, TX, 78703, US
      30.2982508 -97.7675915
    • Terrazas BranchBorrow it
      1105 E. Cesar Chavez St., Austin, TX, 78702, US
      30.2599154 -97.7334621
    • Willie Mae Kirk BranchBorrow it
      3101 Oak Springs Dr., Austin, TX, 78723, US
      30.2729762 -97.699748
    • Windsor Park BranchBorrow it
      5833 Westminster Dr., Austin, TX, 78723, US
      30.3116523 -97.6902298
Processing Feedback ...