Coverart for item
The Resource Althea & Oliver, Cristina Moracho

Althea & Oliver, Cristina Moracho

Label
Althea & Oliver
Title
Althea & Oliver
Statement of responsibility
Cristina Moracho
Title variation
Althea and Oliver
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Althea and Oliver, who have been friends since age six and are now high school juniors, find their friendship changing because he has contracted Kleine-Levin Syndrome"--
Storyline
Tone
Character
Award
  • Booklist Editors’ Choice: Books for Youth, 2014
  • School Library Journal Best Books: Fiction, 2014
  • YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults, 2015.
Review
  • /* Starred Review */ Grades 10-12 Althea and Oliver have been neighbors and best friends since age 6. Now 17, their closeness has developed an expectation of which Althea is too aware, while Oliver seems willfully oblivious. Temperamental, unsociable Althea is afraid that she’s the one who needs Oliver more, while affable Oliver wishes everything would stay the same. Compounding Althea’s insecurity is Oliver’s unusual narcoleptic-like condition, which causes him to fall deeply asleep without warning, for weeks or even months, leaving Althea painfully waiting for his return. After an awkward first kiss, an agonizing loss of virginity, and a messy break with Althea, Oliver goes to New York for a medical study. Althea follows, believing it to be her last chance to save their relationship. Though Oliver’s condition acts as a plot device—it’s the catalyst for both characters—it’s presented with believable sincerity. Set in the 1990s, Moracho’s coming-of-age story carries rare insight and a keen understanding of those verging on adulthood: fierce emotions and crippling insecurity mixed with a heady sense of limitless possibility. Or, as Althea puts it to her father while defending her questionable choices, “Sweaty, queasy, weirdly euphoric.” Suggest this pitch-perfect debut to readers looking for an older, edgier read-alike to Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor & Park (2013). -- Hutley, Krista (Reviewed 08-01-2014) (Booklist, vol 110, number 22, p14)
  • Debut author Moracho takes a familiar setup—best friends with incompatible feelings—and examines it thoroughly and deeply. Althea and Oliver have been inseparable since they were kids. As they mature, Althea yearns for something more from their relationship while Oliver wants everything “to be normal.” Complicating matters, Oliver suffers from an onset of Kleine-Levin syndrome, a rare illness characterized by extreme periods of sleep, memory lapses, and erratic behavior. During one of Oliver’s episodes, he and Althea have sex, drawing a wedge in their friendship and causing her to act out violently. In what reads like a marked departure from the first half of the book, which is set in smalltown North Carolina, latter sections find Oliver in New York City, enrolled in a sleep study. Meanwhile, Althea attempts to track Oliver down but finds new friends and a stronger, more independent version of herself. Throughout the book, Oliver’s reserve is an effective counterpoint to Althea’s reckless responses to the teens’ respective predicaments. Moracho wisely resists a storybook ending for these two, concluding with what seems like the next logical step in their lives. Ages 14–up. (Oct.) --Staff (Reviewed September 1, 2014) (Publishers Weekly, vol 261, issue 35, p)
  • /* Starred Review */ This ain't no fairy tale: This raw coming-of-age novel captures the listless wanderings of teens at loose ends. Althea is always waiting for Oliver to wake up. Plagued by a mysterious affliction that renders him nearly comatose for weeks at a time, Oliver's increasingly unpredictable absences test his lifelong friendship with Althea at precisely the moment that the mounting sexual tension between them reaches the limits of plausible deniability. After a particularly intense bout causes him to sleep through the summer before their senior year, he wakes to find that life has gone on both with and without him, with startling consequences. At turns gritty and gooey, Oliver and Althea's evolving relationship unfolds in a warts-and-all narration that alternates between the two, deftly capturing the purgatorial crossroads between youth and adulthood. Moracho's descriptions are vivid and arresting—a potent cocktail of speed and Southern Comfort "unbutton[s] [Althea's] diffidence like a blouse and cast[s] it aside" at a punk-rock concert—which both grounds the story in familiar details and filigrees it with poetic flourishes. There is rich potential for crossover appeal here; while Althea and Oliver's fumbling progress toward maturity will resonate with teens currently in the angst-filled trenches, the characters' worldly-wise perspectives on their own histrionics will give adult readers reason to nod and sigh in appreciative recognition: Growing up is a messy business.Mesmerizing. (Fiction. 14 & up)(Kirkus Reviews, September 1, 2014)
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10359748
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Moracho, Cristina
Dewey number
[Fic]
Index
no index present
Intended audience
950L
Intended audience source
Lexile
Interest level
UG
LC call number
PZ7.M788192
LC item number
Alt 2014
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 10
  • 12
Reading level
6
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Study program name
Accelerated Reader AR
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Best friends
  • Friendship
  • Sleep disorders in adolescence
  • High schools
  • Schools
  • Single-parent families
  • Best friends
  • Friendship
  • Coming of age
  • Sleep disorders
  • High schools
  • Schools
  • Single-parent families
Target audience
pre adolescent
Label
Althea & Oliver, Cristina Moracho
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1051044
Dimensions
22 cm
Extent
364 pages
Isbn
9780670785391
Isbn Type
(hardcover)
Lccn
2013041135
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9780670785391
  • (OCoLC)862575258
Label
Althea & Oliver, Cristina Moracho
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1051044
Dimensions
22 cm
Extent
364 pages
Isbn
9780670785391
Isbn Type
(hardcover)
Lccn
2013041135
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9780670785391
  • (OCoLC)862575258

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.2713021 -97.7460168
    • Manchaca Road BranchBorrow it
      5500 Manchaca Road, Austin, TX, 78745, US
      30.2166039 -97.79733689999999
    • Ruiz BranchBorrow it
      1600 Grove Blvd., Austin, TX, 78741, US
      30.2298616 -97.7070109
    • Twin Oaks BranchBorrow it
      1800 S. Fifth St., Austin, TX, 78704, US
      30.2486884 -97.76239749999999
Processing Feedback ...