Coverart for item
The Resource Afropessimism, Frank B. Wilderson III

Afropessimism, Frank B. Wilderson III

Label
Afropessimism
Title
Afropessimism
Statement of responsibility
Frank B. Wilderson III
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"In the tradition of Edward Said's Orientalism and Frantz Fanon's Black Skin, White Masks, Afropessimism is an unparalleled account of the non-analogous experience of being Black. A seminal work that strikingly combines groundbreaking philosophy with searing flights of memoir, Afropessimism presents the tenets of an increasingly influential intellectual movement that theorizes blackness through the lens of perpetual slavery. Rather than interpreting slavery through a Marxist framework of class oppression, Frank B. Wilderson III, "a truly indispensable thinker" (Fred Moten), demonstrates that the social construct of slavery, as seen through pervasive, anti-black subjugation and violence, is hardly a relic of the past but an almost necessary force in our civilization that flourishes today, and that Black struggles cannot be conflated with the experiences of any other oppressed group. In mellifluous prose, Wilderson juxtaposes his seemingly idyllic upbringing in halcyon midcentury Minneapolis with the harshness that he would later encounter, whether in radicalized, late-1960s Berkeley or in the slums of Soweto. Following in the rich literary tradition of works by DuBois, Malcolm X and Baldwin, Afropessimism reverberates with wisdom and painful clarity in the fractured world we inhabit"--
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Biography type
autobiography
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10878129
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1956-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Wilderson, Frank B.
Dewey number
  • 378.1/2092
  • B
Index
no index present
LC call number
E185.97.W6128
LC item number
A3 2020
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Wilderson, Frank B.
  • African American intellectuals
  • African American college teachers
  • Black race
  • Black race
  • African Americans
  • Political activists
  • College teachers
  • Racism
  • SOCIAL SCIENCE / Ethnic Studies / American / African American Studies
  • BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Cultural, Ethnic & Regional / African American & Black
  • BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Philosophers
  • Wilderson, Frank B.
  • African American college teachers
  • African American intellectuals
  • African Americans
  • Black race
  • College teachers
  • Political activists
  • Racism
  • United States
Label
Afropessimism, Frank B. Wilderson III
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
For Halloween I washed my face -- Juice from a neck bone -- Hattie McDaniel is dead -- Punishment Park -- The trouble with humans -- Mind the closing doors -- Mario's -- Epilogue: The new century
Control code
on1102470288
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
xi, 352 pages
Isbn
9781631496141
Lccn
2019051446
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1102470288
Label
Afropessimism, Frank B. Wilderson III
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
For Halloween I washed my face -- Juice from a neck bone -- Hattie McDaniel is dead -- Punishment Park -- The trouble with humans -- Mind the closing doors -- Mario's -- Epilogue: The new century
Control code
on1102470288
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
xi, 352 pages
Isbn
9781631496141
Lccn
2019051446
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1102470288

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.2713021 -97.7460168
    • Milwood BranchBorrow it
      12500 Amherst Dr, Austin, TX, 78727, US
      30.4223444 -97.7161692
    • St. John BranchBorrow it
      7500 Blessing Ave., Austin, TX, 78752, US
      30.3328231 -97.6937014
    • Twin Oaks BranchBorrow it
      1800 S. Fifth St., Austin, TX, 78704, US
      30.2486884 -97.76239749999999
Processing Feedback ...