The Resource A pup called trouble, Bobbie Pyron

A pup called trouble, Bobbie Pyron

Label
A pup called trouble
Title
A pup called trouble
Statement of responsibility
Bobbie Pyron
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
When a coyote pup named Trouble stows away in the back of a truck, he ends up in the heart of New York City, and must choose between the risks of being caught and the dangers of a long journey home
Pace
Tone
Character
Review
  • Grades 3-6 /* Starred Review */ When he is born with his eyes open, his mother knows this coyote pup will be trouble, a name which fits him perfectly, as he is so curious about the world. His parents warn their pups to avoid the Makers (humans) and their Beasts (vehicles), but Trouble doesn’t listen. Instead, he stows away in a truck to New York City, where he gets lost after fleeing the frightening commotion of traffic and city life. Mischief, an ornery but friendly crow, takes Trouble under wing, and with help from Rosebud the opossum, they make their way to Central Park. The little band of unlikely animal friends grows to include a fox, an owl, and a domesticated poodle, but once Trouble gets too comfortable around people, the city animals know they must get him back to the country. Pyron’s well-received novels A Dog’s Way Home (2011) and The Dogs of Winter (2012) prove she’s no slouch at telling powerful canine tales. This warm animal fantasy is based on actual accounts of coyotes living in Central Park, and the author deliberately incorporates their natural behavioral characteristics into the narrative. The result is an enthralling adventure with emotional heft and read-aloud potential. Fans of Kate DiCamillo, Phyllis Naylor, and E. B. White will treasure Pyron’s book. -- Petty, J. B. (Reviewed 11/15/2017) (Booklist, vol 114, number 6, p55)
  • Gr 3–6—An exuberant and curious coyote pup is aptly named Trouble. His parents worry that their youngster's inquisitiveness will lead him astray. In an attempt to set boundaries for their impish offspring, the parents show Trouble and his siblings the makers (humans) and warn them to have nothing to do with this clan. Trouble, however, cannot stay away, and one night his nosiness finally leads him into a precarious situation. He is exploring a farm truck when he finds himself on the move, ending up at a farmer's market in New York City. Trouble alternates between fear, homesickness, and delight as he navigates new environments, tries new foods, and settles into a comfortable life in Central Park with his new friends, Mischief the crow, Rosebud the opossum, an owl named Professor, and Minette the poodle. When Trouble draws the attention of an animal control officer, he's desperate to reunite with his family. Based on real-life instances of coyotes inhabiting Central Park, Pyron's tale deftly navigates the animal adventure genre with a lively voice. Readers will be captivated as Trouble and his friends work together to find safety and, eventually, return home. Each creature grows as a character, exhibiting bravery, compassion, and sacrifice. A variety of humans, kind and horrid, round out the story and play roles in Trouble's eventual reunion with his family. Critter Notes at the end provide factual information on the animals in the book. VERDICT Purchase where there is a demand for animal stories, especially for fans of W. Bruce Cameron's "A Dog's Purpose" series.—Nancy Nadig, Penn Manor School District, Lancaster, PA --Nancy Nadig (Reviewed 11/01/2017) (School Library Journal, vol 63, issue 11, p77)
  • Aptly named coyote pup Trouble strays too far from home and ends up in the back of a truck headed for New York City. Fortunately, he's befriended—more or less—by a wily crow, Mischief, who provides help in key moments. A shy and anxious opossum, Rosebud, is drawn into their flight from Officer Vetch, a determined, not especially kind animal control officer who makes it his mission to find and round up the coyote. Mischief alternates between kindness, helping lead Rosebud and Trouble to the relative safety of Central Park, and good-natured malice, serving up a healthy supply of (somewhat) dirty tricks. After Trouble falls for a prissy but good-natured poodle, he starts to lose his wildness, growing less and less cautious of the perils of the city. When a little girl with good intentions but not much wisdom tries to feed Trouble, real danger emerges, leading to a suspenseful chase that will have readers cheering for the clever animals who team up to save their coyote friend. The animal protagonists emerge as believable if typecast characters: the owl is wise, the crow is clever, the swans are disdainful, Trouble is curious; but all of them are endearingly loyal. An interesting afterword provides additional animal information. A fast-paced, immersive exploration of urban wildlife from a satisfying animal point of view. (Fiction. 9-12) (Kirkus Reviews, November 15, 2017)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10620807
Cataloging source
YDX
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Pyron, Bobbie
Dewey number
[Fic]
Index
no index present
Intended audience
700L
Intended audience source
Lexile
Interest level
LG
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 3
  • 6
Reading level
5
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Study program name
Accelerated Reader AR
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Coyote
  • Adventure and adventurers
  • Coyote
  • Central Park (New York, N.Y.)
  • New York (N.Y.)
  • Central Park (New York, N.Y.)
  • New York (N.Y.)
Target audience
juvenile
Label
A pup called trouble, Bobbie Pyron
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1912618
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
200 pages
Isbn
9780062685223
Lccn
bl2018004588
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9780062685223
  • (OCoLC)987660006
Label
A pup called trouble, Bobbie Pyron
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1912618
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
200 pages
Isbn
9780062685223
Lccn
bl2018004588
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9780062685223
  • (OCoLC)987660006

Library Locations

    • Carver BranchBorrow it
      1161 Angelina St., Austin, TX, 78702, US
      30.2695584 -97.7240278
    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.2713021 -97.7460168
    • Howson BranchBorrow it
      2500 Exposition Blvd., Austin, TX, 78703, US
      30.2982508 -97.7675915
    • Little Walnut Creek BranchBorrow it
      835 W. Rundberg Lane, Austin, TX, 78758, US
      30.3632362 -97.6984619
    • Manchaca Road BranchBorrow it
      5500 Manchaca Road, Austin, TX, 78745, US
      30.2166039 -97.79733689999999
    • St. John BranchBorrow it
      7500 Blessing Ave., Austin, TX, 78752, US
      30.3328231 -97.6937014
    • Spicewood Springs BranchBorrow it
      8637 Spicewood Springs Rd., Austin, TX, 78759, US
      30.4337083 -97.7730809
    • Terrazas BranchBorrow it
      1105 E. Cesar Chavez St., Austin, TX, 78702, US
      30.2599154 -97.7334621
    • Twin Oaks BranchBorrow it
      1800 S. Fifth St., Austin, TX, 78704, US
      30.2486884 -97.76239749999999
Processing Feedback ...