Coverart for item
The Resource A case of bier : a bed-and-breakfast mystery, Mary Daheim

A case of bier : a bed-and-breakfast mystery, Mary Daheim

Label
A case of bier : a bed-and-breakfast mystery
Title
A case of bier
Title remainder
a bed-and-breakfast mystery
Statement of responsibility
Mary Daheim
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Vacations can be murder. No one knows that better than Judith McMonigle Flynn, owner of Seattle's popular Hillside Manor B&B. After a busy summer, she desperately needs some R&R. Leave it to her thoughtful husband, Joe, to surprise her with a trip to the Canadian Rockies. Thrilled to be getting away, Judith's overjoyed when Cousin Renie and Bill agree to join them. Though the husbands have made the arrangements, how bad can a short time away in the beautiful mountains be? Judith and Renie are about to find out! While the accommodations certainly leave something to be desired, the other guests are the real prize. They've gathered on the mountainside to give a relative a proper and permanent send-off--a nice gesture, until Judith realizes that paying their respects might be a little premature...without some very sinister assistance. Now, it's up to her and Renie to save a would-be corpse from an early date with the undertaker.--
Member of
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Review
  • While their husbands go on a fishing trip, cousins Judith and Renie vacation in spectacular Banff, Alberta. Amateur sleuth Judith’s curiosity soon leads the cousins to look into the murder of the elderly patriarch of a Nebraska farm family staying at the same inn. The Stokes family is in Canada to honor the final wish of the very ill “Codger” Stokes, who wants his body to be floated on a bier down a nearby river. Unfortunately, he is killed before he can die of natural causes, and his body disappears, along with the bier. The incredibly quirky Stokes family, their saner Iowa relatives, and a missing maid obfuscate the cousins' investigation, but, with the help of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, Judith perseveres. While it is difficult to believe that the RCMP would share as much information with tourists as they do here, Judith and the prickly Renie are both fully fleshed characters and will hold the interest of longtime readers of Daheim's series, now in its thirty-first installment. -- Sue O'Brien (Reviewed 1/4/2019) (Booklist, vol 115, number 9)
  • In Daheim’s highly implausible 31st Bed-and-Breakfast mystery (after 2016’s Here Comes the Bribe), Seattle B and B owner Judith McMonigle Flynn and her best friend and cousin, Renie Jones, embark on a 10-day vacation in Banff, Alberta, along with their husbands. Rather than keeping themselves amused with shopping and sightseeing while the men gallivant off on a fishing trip, the outrageously nosy Judith and smart-mouthed Renie impose themselves on the Stokes family, who have brought their dying patriarch from Nebraska to Canada to fulfill his last wish—to have his body placed on a funeral bier and floated down the Bow River. Things take a murderous turn when somebody stabs the old guy in the back—but was it before he died or after? Does it matter? Nobody seems to figure out whether it does or not. Unbelievable characters, an incomprehensible plot, and too many unanswered questions will frustrate readers. This one’s for diehard series fans only. Agent: Maureen Moran, Maureen Moran Agency. (Feb.)
			 --Staff (Reviewed 12/24/2018) (Publishers Weekly, vol 265, issue 52, p)
  • Judith McMonigle Flynn is ready for a vacation away from her popular bed-and-breakfast. But she and cousin Renie never should have let their husbands plan the trip to Banff in the Canadian Rockies. While she and Renie imagined a luxurious stay, they end up in a cheap motel and the men go off on an extended fishing trip. What does Judith do to entertain herself? Of course, she checks out an unusual gathering where the Stokes family from Nebraska has a bier ready to send down the river when the family elder, Codger, dies. According to the family, Codger is ready to go anytime. But when a body is found with knife wounds, it disappears before the Mounties can investigate. Unfortunately for Sergeant Brewster, RCMP, Judith is already on the case, and she's been labeled a FASTO, a female amateur sleuth tracking offenders. The fast-paced mystery supplies humorous dialog between Renie and Judith, and multiple opportunities for disappearances of corpses and suspects. VERDICT "What's a vacation for if we can't find a corpse" sums up Judith's life and the comic ongoing series. Fans of Tamar Myers and Donna Andrews will appreciate the sequel to Here Comes the Bribe. [See Prepub Alert, 1/8/18.] --Lesa Holstine (Reviewed 02/01/2019) (Library Journal, vol 144, issue 1, p66)
Assigning source
Publisher's description
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10597561
Cataloging source
NjBwBT
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Daheim, Mary
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
novels
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
A bed-and-breakfast mystery
Series volume
0031
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Flynn, Judith McMonigle (Fictitious character)
  • Flynn, Judith McMonigle (Fictitious character)
  • Murder
  • Bed and breakfast accommodations
  • Women detectives
  • Banff (Alta.)
Target audience
adult
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
a bed-and-breakfast mystery
Label
A case of bier : a bed-and-breakfast mystery, Mary Daheim
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1084512110
Dimensions
22 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
279 pages
Isbn
9780062663818
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1084512110
Label
A case of bier : a bed-and-breakfast mystery, Mary Daheim
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1084512110
Dimensions
22 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
279 pages
Isbn
9780062663818
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1084512110

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.2713021 -97.7460168
    • North Village BranchBorrow it
      2505 Steck Ave, Austin, TX, 78757, US
      30.362144 -97.7305032
    • Ruiz BranchBorrow it
      1600 Grove Blvd., Austin, TX, 78741, US
      30.2298616 -97.7070109
    • Spicewood Springs BranchBorrow it
      8637 Spicewood Springs Rd., Austin, TX, 78759, US
      30.4337083 -97.7730809
    • Terrazas BranchBorrow it
      1105 E. Cesar Chavez St., Austin, TX, 78702, US
      30.2599154 -97.7334621
    • Windsor Park BranchBorrow it
      5833 Westminster Dr., Austin, TX, 78723, US
      30.3116523 -97.6902298
Processing Feedback ...